8.0.0.0 Settings–new option added: Synchronize options

WinNC crashes when I try to eject a USB stick

November 14, 2017

Fastcopy: Are all the bugs resolved now?

December 13, 2017

WinNC crashes when I try to eject a USB stick

November 14, 2017

Fastcopy: Are all the bugs resolved now?

December 13, 2017
WinNc QuestionsCategory: General questions8.0.0.0 Settings–new option added: Synchronize options
Karen Mullen asked 9 years ago
There are three options:1) matching, 2) skip empty folders,  3)  use fast copy.  #2 and #3 are clear since there is a verb and an object.  #1 has me baffled.  What does "matching" mean?   To me, "synchronize" itself means "make them match".  So, I can't figure out how ''synchronization" would be affected by a) having the box checked or  b) having the box unchecked.  Maybe, you could give me some examples. Or an explanation for what "matching" means.
1 Answers
Ramon Speets Staff answered 9 years ago
Matching means 'only synchronize files that exists on both sides'. This option is to keep only certain files in a directory updated (that exists on both folders)
Karen Mullen replied 9 years ago

Thanks for your answer about matching. I’ve sent you two Bug Reports about problems with mis-synchronization, along with an attachment for each that has descriptions and screenshots in it. Those two reports show a blue box for “Matching” blue at WinNc options > Synchronization options, which is the way the box was filled in when WinNc 8.0.0.0 was “in the box”. I changed the other two options (skip folders and fastcopy) so that they are blank. However, let me say that I tried everything in those two mis-synchronization Bug Reports another way, (viz, with the “matching” box unchecked (i.e. blank). and the same problem exists — i.e.,certain folders whose boxes are *unchecked* in the Synchronization > Merge to Destination dialogue screen get synchronized anyway. An unchecked box in the dialogue screen means “ignore these folders when synchronizing,” right? If so, these “unchecks’ in the dialogue screen didn’t work — because the folders got synchronized anyway — no matter whether “matching” is checked (i.e., blue box) or not (empty box).