Editor copy error in WinNC version 7.8.0.0 and some earlier versions.
May 12, 2017If you have enabled “Undo”, what do you do if you need to use it.
May 14, 2017I suggest a new feature that will allow a user to “pin” the setting for Synchronization Mode so that it always opens with a specific Synchronization Mode setting. I envision that it could work in one of these two ways: a) keep the Synchronization window open (instead of automatically closing it after the OK button is clicked). Then, the user can change the default for the Synchronization Mode before manually closing it; thus, it will always open with that setting the next time it opens. b) put an option in the WinNc options that allows the user to select a specific Synchronization Mode that will always come into play when the Synchronization window opens. (I like this option better). Hope this is an easy thing to do
Rationale: I use the synchronization feature many, many times a week to make my new computer the same as my old computer. The new computer is the destination' and the old computer is the 'source’. I usually use the ‘merge to destination’ option since some of the files on the new computer are specific to it and if I were to use ‘force to destination', these machine-specific folders/files on the new computer would be deleted. But, sometimes I do the 'force to destination’ just to see if there are some files on the new computer that got copied from the old computer before I later deleted them on the old computer. Now, the problem is this: after the 'force to destination' finishes, the Synchronization window automatically closes, keeping the 'force to destination' as the default for the next time Synchronization opens. I have to be very watchful about this setting, because the next time I open Synchronization, I could end up deleting files from the new computer that I did not want to delete. [This HAS happened.] I have heretofore solved this problem by immediately reopening the Synchronization windows to change the Mode to 'merge to destination', knowing that it will close with this as its default the next time it opens. But, I have to remember to do this!! It would be extremely beneficial to be able to change the default before the Synchronization window closes or to set this in a WinNc option that ‘sticks’ all the time (the latter, I think, is a better solution).
-----------------------------------
If I could figure out how to make an attachment here, I would post a screenshot of the Synchronization dialogue box and the particular drop-down box that displays the Synchronization Modes. But, I think I've described it adequately so that you will know what I am talking about. I would like to be able to "pin" one of these Modes so that it is always displayed every time I open the Synchronization dialogue box.
2 Answers
Added to our backlog as issue / feature request #884.
Thanks. Looking forward to seeing it incorporated to reduce MY memory load!!
Please login or Register to submit your answer
